Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Boracay: Snorkeling Site

Last weekend, my parents, my sister and I went to Boracay.  This is our second time this year in Boracay.  There were only 4 of us, however, compared to our first time there where the whole family (including my brother and his family).

As my parents are already old (my father’s already 78 and my mother 63), we can no longer do most of the water activities there.  Instead, we rented a boat and went around the island.  We just stopped in one area, the snorkeling site and had our fill of the wonderful fishes there.

With me of course is my Olympus TG2 camera.  An underwater camera I’ve been using for about a year now (after I lost the charger of my Panasonic TS5 and couldn’t find a replacement).  I’m quite ok with this camera.  It has a wide view lens (25mm equivalent) which is wonderful for taking pictures underwater.  It also has a nice 2.0 aperture (at the wide end) resulting in pictures taken at lower ISO.  However, I dislike that it doesn’t record raw files (limiting the post processing that can be done).  This lack of raw recording makes it very difficult to correct white balance should I or the camera get it wrong.

Anyway, onto the pictures of fishes, fishes, fishes.

Clown fishes (with 1 stripe instead of Nemo’s 3) and a yellow fish (don’t know this one).

Another clown fish among the anemone.  To me the anemone looks “pregnant” as if ready to burst anytime.

Some less colorful fish with blue fishes with yellow tails.

I don’t know these fishes but they look like they could be the one being sold in the market and eaten (as opposed to sold as aquarium fishes).

Another fish.  I got lucky that the camera’s focusing and flash caught this one very sharp (as sharp as the camera can capture) but this pic is cropped (about 66% of the frame remains).

Some blackish fish whose scale pattern looks like moire.

My sister using a lifevest and snorkel.

Feeding fishes.  Just read that it is not good to feed fishes as they come to be more tame and not afraid of humans (thereby increasing the chances that they’ll be caught).

And lastly, me!  This year has been an amazing year for me as I finally learned how to be in the sea without a lifevest.  I just need to have a snorkel, mask and fins and I can spend time in the sea, even in deeper waters (though without them, I’d surely drown).  I’m also just learning to freedive (albeit at the very beginning stage still).

Leave a Reply

