Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Calaguas – Rays of Sunshine and Crashing Waves

Last weekend, we went to Calaguas Island (known locally as Tinaga group of islands).  It was the third time there for most of us, first time for some.  It was also the first time that we’ve experienced huge waves so much so that on going to the island, we were already drenched barely 15 minutes from leaving shore from waves crashing to our small boat.  Waves in Calaguas (in Mahabang Buhangin beach) aren’t any different and the boat cannot go very near the shore so we have to go down in waist deep water.

This picture was taken in late afternoon.  The sun gloriously peeked from a group of clouds casting rays of sunshine on the sea.  I took about five photos of the rays of sunlight but this is my absolute favorite.

As I was about to take a picture of the sun and its rays, I spotted a group of boys playing in the beach just when a huge wave crashed on them.  I guess it was a split second moment and I’m so glad that I was able to catch it with my camera.  The camera was set to expose for the sun and its rays hence the boys and the crashing waves were several stops underexposed.  Good thing it was all set to ISO 200 and I was able to correct exposure in post (though noise is visible on the boys’ bodies).

A wonderful picture taken in a wonderful setting.  Even though I took only very few pictures, this one made the trip worth it.

Leave a Reply

