Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Patar Beach

Patar Beach is located in Bolinao, Pangasinan.  I’ve come across the name and pictures of this beach several times in the internet.  Last weekend, our group planned to go there.

We were supposed to meet up in Victory Liner Cubao at 7am and ride the 730 bus.  Due to the fact that this is early (for me), I overslept and arrived there at past 730am.  They have gone ahead and all I could do was take the bus to Alaminos and then take another bus from there to Bolinao.  Eman met me in Alaminos with the cooler (as I brought with me fish and  meat which might spoil).  After travelling almost a whole day, I finally arrived in Patar Beach at around 4pm!

(7am is early for me.  It’s not too early that I could just skip sleeping and not late enough for me to have my normal sleep).

I was surprised when we arrived in Patar Beach.  I had images in my mind of a quite beachfront where it would just be us and some other groups) camping on the beach.  But lo and behold!  There are many people in the beach!  There are even permanent stalls selling souvenirs.  This means that Patar Beach is a famous beach in the area.  I should have been tipped off by the numerous resorts around the area that this will not be a place for solitude.

Anyway, the beach is really nice.  The water’s saltier and the waves stronger than in our beaches.  Fortunately, the water’s also very clear and there are small fishes very near the beach (I saw a black and yellow clownfish!).  The weather’s nice and hot so we had a good stay there.  To take tranquil photos, we had to walk further away from the public beach to photograph rock formations and waves.

Leave a Reply

