Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Printing

During the Photoworld Expo here, I bought a Pixma iX6560 printer from Canon.  It is the smallest A3+ printer in the market and it was on sale.

When I finally set it up, I made some test prints and the one on the left is one of those.

Printing my pictures is one thing which I’ve wanted to do before as I believe it will give me more satisfaction than viewing the pictures on a computer screen.

As I’ve found out, printing is not as easy as it looks.  For one thing, the printer doesn’t do a good matte print.  Glossy prints look better.  And another more important thing, I need to calibrate my monitor:

  • My LED screen is a whole stop lighter than the prints so I have to republish in lightroom those pictures which I want to print.
  • Black and white photos are ok after making them lighter.
  • The colored ones are problematic since the midtones are off, skin tones are off, color temperature is off.

I’m thinking that I need a monitor calibration device but the price is expensive and I think that I’ll use it only once or twice to calibrate my two monitors.  I just have to find somebody from whom I can borrow this device.

2 responses

  1. I found that out the hard way too…I’ve since calibrated my monitor (using a Spyder monitor calibrator), and tend to lighten them a little so that they come out better when printed. I read somewhere that if you do not have the device yet, you can turn the brightness of your monitor down so that your photos will appear darker, and you are forced to lighten them on post. Good luck.

    February 7, 2013 at 1:09 am

    • Yeah. I have to reprocess everything for printing (usually +1 exposure) but the bigger problem is on color – temperature is a too warm and midtones are darker than they should be.

      February 7, 2013 at 1:14 am

Leave a Reply

