Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Black & White vs. Color

A comparison of the black and white pictures (recently processed) with their original color pictures.  Other than the color changes, I may have changed the cropping a bit but the compositions are substantially the same between the versions.

To me, the pictures are the same in terms of aesthetics (except for the angels which had the most improvement when converted to B&W).

Leaf


Angels
Wood Stove

Potters

Lonely Tree

Flower

5 responses

  1. B&W, in many shots, including these, takes you eye away from the colour and brings out much more detail. It also enhances the light. Can you tell I’m in love with B&W?

    November 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    • Thanks for visiting my blog (or just my post). Yes, you seem to love B&W based on your blog.

      I like high contrast in B&W even if it means sacrificing some details in the shadows and highlights. Adds more drama and mystery. Still to try low-contrast and normal contrast B&W.

      November 26, 2012 at 6:58 pm

      • I use Silver Efex Pro, it is the best software I have ever used, the adjustments you can make in B&W are amazing!

        November 26, 2012 at 7:01 pm

      • I have that but haven’t tried it yet (Viveza is amazing though). I just use Lightroom but I’ll have a go with Silver Efex.

        November 26, 2012 at 7:04 pm

      • You will never go back!

        November 26, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

