Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Tamron 70-300 VC Close Ups

As of Thursday last week, I have 6 lenses for my Canon (15-85, 18-135, 10-24, 50mm 1.4, 100mm macro and 8mm fisheye).  Last Friday, I bought a Tamron 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 Di VC USD.

I’ve been looking for a telephoto zoom for quite sometime.  I’ve considered the Canon 100-400mm (still a dream) but it was very expensive.  A Sigma 150-500mm but it was large, still expensive and not readily available (have to pre-order).  I searched and found Tamron 70-300 at reasonable prices in two variants!  One was the 70-300 non-VC MACRO.  It goes to a magnification of 1:2 but it has a micromotor drive (noisy) and no image stabilization but it’s very cheap.  The other one which I bought is the VC version with ultrasonic drive (USD) but the macro capabilities go down to 1:4.

I tested it this weekend in Burot Beach and I was very very surprised.  The image quality at 300mm is good, color is amazing!!! (punchy and not washed out like my other zoom lenses).  The long minimum focus distance (1.5m) is also very far so this would be good for photographing shy insects (haven’t tested this much though).  Eventhough the lens has a maximum aperture of 5.6 at 300mm, the long focal length gives serious bokeh at this setting (even at f8) if used on close subjects.  The color and contrast at 300mm f5.6 is already good but stopping down to f8 boosts contrasts to very good levels.  The only fly in the ointment for me is that the focusing at 300mm and f5.6 is not great (maybe my error or lens error).

Anyway, here are the pics and hope you enjoy them.

One response

  1. Pingback: Samyang 650-1300mm f8-f16 Lens Test « thenoblewanderer

Leave a Reply

