Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Post-Processing: The Power of Cropping

One of the best things I’ve learned from reading online about photography and composition is cropping.  This drastically improves composition if the shot was not properly made, the horizon was not level or more magnification is desired.

This one’s a shot of my friend, Ella, with her son, Yeshua.

I was using a 100mm macro on my camera shooting flowers and butterflies and I stopped to take several shots of them.  Using a prime lens and me being rather far from them, my shot was much wider than it should be.  Also, I shot in landscape but on looking at the picture in my computer, I realized that Ella and her son should be the focus of the picture and everything else is distraction.  The cropping simplified composition, removed most distractions and made the picture more intimate.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

This shot was taken in Mt. Batulao.  As it was a climb, I did not bring my macro lens (quite heavy) and I brought only my kit lens (18-135mm) but I still want to take macros and close ups.

I cropped it to get more magnification and to focus more on the unfurling fern leaves.  Also, the cropping is to follow the rule of thirds.

Since the leaves were in the shade, the shot was taken with high ISO and the cropping accentuated the noise (this was before I learned about noise reduction and sharp masking in Lightroom but it can only go so far in removing noise).

.

.

.

This one’s another example of cropping to increase magnification.  This was taken using my kit lens (which was on the camera at the time) and I was using the center focus point.  I again cropped to increase magnification and follow rule of thirds.  Fortunately, this shot was taken in good light so there’s not much noise on the picture.

Another reason I said was for correcting tilted horizon (which makes it angle cropping) but I’m too lazy to find an example (have several in my pictures).

I’m a cropper.  Most of my post-processing is cropping (especially for shots taken in my camera that I did not take or those taken with a prime lens).  That’s also a reason why I like a camera with big megapixels (my Canon has 18mp) and envy the Nikon D800 users.  It also puts more importance on cameras with good high ISO but can’t complain with what I’m using.

Leave a Reply

