Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Macros and Closeups!

After several trips where I had the 18-135mm lens attached to my 7D, I became frustrated with the pictures I was taking.  For our trip to Amansinaya Resort (Las Haciendas) in Laurel, Batangas, I no longer brought the 18-135mm lens and instead bought my 100mm macro, 50mm 1.4 and 10-22 ultrawide.  The macro lens was on the camera almost all of the time and this time, I was satisfied with the images that came out.

I swear that I’m going to get a sharper general zoom (perhaps the Canon 15-85 or 17-55 or possibly a Tamron 17-50 VC).  Until then, I’ll probably be using my primes more.

.

.

And now, in addition to Lightroom, I’m using Nik’s software.  I love Color Efex and Viveza.  The U-point adjustment in Viveza is just amazing.  In the picture above, I put a u-point on the yellow flower and was able to get more detail on the flower without affecting the whole picture.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

I’m still amazed by the 100mm macro lens.  Really sharp with amazing bokeh.  However, I hope someday I can afford the L version (with IS) as the IS will get my percentage of keepers higher.  (I know the IS is still not the perfect solution but it’s better than shaky pictures due to low shutter speed or grainy pictures due to high ISO).

Having the 100mm macro on the camera, of course, has its downsides.  Being a long prime lens, I don’t get to take snapshots.  But I guess I can just use my Lumix TS-3 for snapshots.   Snapshots are for me remember the place, our activities, etc.  Images are for others to (hopefully) remember me.

Leave a Reply

