Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

The New Love of My Life, Fjona – the Fuji X10

My Fuji X10 (with a bowl of coffee) shot by Jason with Wynona (his Canon 1100D) before Wynona took a dive in the sea.

When I created this blog, I didn’t plan on writing extensive reviews of photographic gears (a little note here and there perhaps).  However, I sort of changed my mind because I’m very very impressed with my Fuji X10.  It’s not perfect but it still amazes me a month after I’ve been using it most of the time.

I’ve been wanting to get a Fuji X10 since late last year, after I’ve read many reviewers praising it (and X100).  However, at the time, I find that it was expensive and is not yet available here in the Philippines at the time.  It was on my Christmas list.

In January, my Canon 60D got broken by waves splashing all over it so I decided to buy a Fuji X10 (already available here at the time).  It was a decision I don’t regret, even if the price is quite high (more expensive than Canon 1100D or some m4/3 cameras).

Bad things first, well, there’s the most talked about white orbs.  I’ve managed to get it only once in Tondol.  It’s probably present in some of my other pictures but I didn’t notice it or it was not very bothersome.

White orbs on the sun (in Tondol Beach).

I usually use EXR (most of the time), C1 (I’ve set macro on C1), Adv. and Aperture priority most of the time and I find that they are rather far apart in the exposure mode dial but no biggie.

I’ve also knocked the exposure compensation dial several times (ok not while handling but while putting it or pulling it out of the drybag that I use to carry it).

Manual focus is a bitch (I’ve used it only once and later just tried and tried with the autofocus).  Autofocus is not as fast as a DSLR (to be expected).  Probably my biggest complaint (though not a dealbreaker) is that I can’t set white balance and Velvia film simulation while in EXR mode.  RAW is also not available in EXR and Adv. modes but this is not a big problem since the JPEGs can take quite an abuse from post-processing without losing much image quality.

Now on to the positives:

It takes beautiful pictures!!!  The colors (esp. in Velvia mode) are amazing!!!  High ISO pictures are good (for a small sensor camera, but for web purposes are quite sufficient)!  Yes, the extra exclamations are necessary.

Previously, on climbs or other trips, I’d take my DSLR (Canon 60D at the time) with the kit lens (for climbs) or with the kit lens, macro lens and ultrawide lens for beach trips.  Lately, I just take the X10 and Panasonic waterproof camera with me on trips.  So much smaller and I find that I don’t miss opportunities for good photos and my pack is so much lighter.  I also find that its colors are better than Canon (ok shooting raw creates countless color adjustment possibilities but it’s faster with the base colors of Fuji).

I think the biggest thing that I like with the Fuji X10 (other than it’s relatively small size compared to a DSLR) is it’s very simple to use.  Just set to EXR (for almost all scenarios) and just focus on composition and timing and press the shutter button.  Less time spent on fiddling with buttons, dials and adjustments, more time spent on focusing on the scene.  As a result, I think I’ve come out with better pictures than I did when using a DSLR (esp. the DSLR with a kit lens attached).

Now on to the pictures (click the picture for a larger file that opens in a new tab).  All pictures are post-processed (which is what I now do whether shot from the X10, 7D or with the waterproof cam).

Portraits:

Diamond (My Officemate) * Me

Group Shots:

Group shot in Tondol Beach

.

.

.

.

.

.

Office Merienda Break

.

.

.

.

.

.

 Macro and Close Ups:

Orange Flower * Seeds/Flower * Barbwire

Landscapes and Seascapes:

Blue Skies Over Emerald Sea (Tondol Beach)

.

.

.

.

.

.

A View of Mordor from the Shire (Mt. Batulao seen from Mt. Talamitam)

.

.

.

.

.

Cory Island * Talipanan Beach

General:

Bamboo * Hot Air Balloon Festival

Low-Light (No Flash):

Choosing a Meal (Ella) * Tanggero (Tem)

From the above pics, I’m sure you get the idea of what the camera can do.  It would be great for street and documentary photography but it is not in my line so no samples for that.

Fuji X10 is not perfect (far from it) but it has good image quality and combine this with the small size, retro good looks (yeah I dig that) and relatively simplicity in using (if left to EXR most of the time), it is a good value for the price.  I always carry it with me and I hope to take more beautiful photos with it.

5 responses

  1. Does this camera not shoot raw at all, or just not in EXR mode?

    March 28, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    • It shoots raw in PASM but in EXR and Adv. modes, only JPEG.

      March 28, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      • Thanks!

        March 28, 2012 at 4:28 pm

      • Welcome.

        March 28, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  2. tripoyet

    like the mordor effect of Batulao… 😉

    March 30, 2012 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

