Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

Harry and Lovie’s Wedding

Harry and Lovie.

March 24, 2012

This afternoon, I attended the wedding of a friend (a former officemate) and her groom (who I also know).  They have known each other for a long time and have been good friends since then.  Another friend (also an officemate) is the maid of honor.

For this wedding and as a spectator, I just brought my Fuji X10 (which performed admirably).  The church is dim but the main photographers brought in lights which illuminated the altar and the couple.  It was a nice wedding (not sure if I’ll have my own wedding ever).

As a relatively new photographer (amateur or enthusiast – non-professional), I was curious about the professionals who do event photography (mostly weddings) as a profession.  In the wedding (not a big wedding) there were at least 4 photographers (identified by their pink shirt).  Of course as an attendee to the wedding, I did not want to get in the way of the hired professionals so I took pictures from the side.

I checked what lenses they were using and found: Canon 24-70mm and Canon 70-200mm (not sure if f2.8 or f4) for the lead photographer; Canon 17-40mm for an assistant photographer (probably her son or protege since he’s always with her; and basic lenses for the others – Nikon 50mm f1.8 (which looks very very plasticky), some Tamron or Sigma.

The photographers.  The one in pink and the one in stripes are with the lead photographer while the other two are possibly guests or relatives of the bride and groom.

Being in the church and just taking some pictures, I now realize why the 24-70 and 70-200 plus 16-35 (or the equivalent primes) are the bread and butter lens of wedding and event photographers.  f2.8 to get the most lights in dimly lit venues, wide for a shot of the whole venue and 70-200 for closeups when necessary (when the photographer cannot be near the subject).  And yes, I respect event photographers for handling stress in a live, fast-paced situations.

Do I have dreams of becoming a professional (i.e., paid) photographer someday?  Probably, when I can handle the fast-paced events.  As for now I just want to enjoy being a photographer without the stress of meeting client expectations (only my own).

And yeah, Congratulations Harry and Lovie!  Best wishes on the start of a new life!

Princess, the maid of honor.

2 responses

  1. You’ll have your wedding too…How I wish we had photoshoot po…fierce-themed photography..hehehe..or dito na lang natin gawin Sir…make your passion your profession. Your shots are okay Sir…

    March 24, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    • Don’t worry Tin. I’ll be in Singapore as soon as I get a passport. Dyan na tayo photoshoot.

      March 24, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Leave a Reply

