Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

“How Are You?”

A few weeks ago, an expat officemate commented that when asked how I am, I always answer with “I’m fine” or “I’m ok.”

I’m not so good at pleasantries and this got me thinking on what should be the appropriate answer.  Do I pour my heart out to them and tell that I’m not in tiptop shape, or that I am depressed for that day, or that I am having morbid thoughts? Do I tell them that at times I don’t even want to rise from where I’m lying in the morning?

Do they even have the time and the ear to listen to more than a minute’s worth of answer?

Please let me know.

Leave a Reply

