Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

My First Attempts at Photography

I got my first “serious” camera in July 2011.  Before that, I’ve had a Samsung point and shoot and a Fuji S4000 bridge camera.  The bridge camera would have sufficed then except that I find the autofocus too slow and there is no manual focus.

I bought the Canon 60D with the 18-135mm kit lens and a 100mm macro lens.  I would have gotten the 18-200 lens but it was too expensive that I decided to get the shorter (range) one and buy a macro prime.

My first photo project was at home and involved me taking shots of water falling on my dirty dishes.

Then some pictures of plastic flowers at home (no fresh flowers to photograph).

Same flowers with purple filter applied in Lightroom 3.6.

Later on, I also snapped some shots of katmon (a kind of fruit) with pistachio.

Later on, I shot water again (this time with oil).

After a while, I also bought a 50mm f1.4 prime (below is a test shot right after I bought the lens).

These are some of my earlier pictures and I know I’ve improved since then (and I hope that those who view my pictures will agree).

I’ve added a 10-22mm ultrawide for landscape shots after a few months.

Right now, I want to sell my kit lens.  I think I’ve outgrown it and I’m no longer satisfied with it, especially when comparing the image quality of pictures shot with it compared to the 100mm macro and 50mm prime.  I even think the Fuji X10’s lens beat it in terms of image quality.  Soon . . .

Leave a Reply

