Traveller, Photographer, Mountaineer, Human

OM-D!!!

I’ve been using a Canon DSLR for 1.5 years now (60D first then a 7D when the 60D broke due to seawater damage).  I also have a Fuji X10 as an everyday camera (mostly for office events).  And I also have a Panasonic TS3 for underwater pictures.  I’m quite satisfied with all of these, except that the 7D is quite big and heavy for everyday shots and I want something better in low light than the X10 (a very good camera indeed but 3200 is as far as I would go and this comes at the price of resolution – 6mp instead of 12mp).

I’ve wanted a Fuji X100 for quite sometime (even before the X10).  It simply looks gorgeous with its retro-cool style.  But it was too expensive.  Then Fuji issued the X-Pro1, another beautiful looking camera but again too expensive.  Then Fuji released XE1 with all of the capabilities of (even better than) X-Pro1 but the looks are not the same.  Nevertheless, I decided on getting one for Christmas.

I was bent on getting the XE1 for Christmas but it was out-of-stock.  When stock arrived, I was out of money so the purchase of a new camera had to wait.

January saw the release of Fuji X20 and Fuji X100s with new technology and newer sensor than those in the XE1 and X-Pro1.  It was then that I realized that the XE1 are still far from being the best Fuji had to offer.  Also, I’ve read many reviews that claims that the Fuji’s are not very fast in focusing (compared to competition).  It was then that I looked somewhere else.  I’ve considered the NEX cameras but the way the camera looks still doesn’t please me.  The EOS M provides an opportunity for me to use my Canon EF lenses but reviews have not been good on the camera (most conclude that this is Canon’s half-hearted attempt to go mirrorless).  Samsung NXs are nice but reviews indicate slow operations (particularly write speeds) and RAW files are much much larger than others.

Then there’s micro four thirds, particularly OM-D.  Camera of the year for many photography gear sites.  Fast-focusing, good image quality, weather-sealed, etc. etc.  And so, I took the plunge and bought one.Olympus OM-D with my Fuji X10.

As you can see, the camera itself is small, a tiny bit smaller than the X10 (except for the “prism” hump) but the lens is long and skinny.  It also has the retro cool looks but lacks a pop-up flash (which is provided with the camera kit and has to be attached).

I’ve only have it for two days but I wanted to do some test shots.

Test Shots

Vignettes in My Disorderly House

Here are some pictures I took at night in my house.  All of these were shot using the rather slow kit lens 12-50mm (only lens I have for this camera) at ISO 6400.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Dynamic Range (Pushing the Shadows)

According to Dxomark, Olympus OM-D has better dynamic range than Canon DSLRs.  Most of the time, I don’t need an additional dynamic range than what my Canon DSLR provides but it is very very useful when pushing exposure (underexposed picture or when pushing shadows).

I did not intend to test this but an unfortunate test shot paved the way for this push test.  I was shooting at random things but did not notice that it was set to manual and the shot was severely underexposed.

After getting home and uploading to Lightroom, I tested how the underexposed image (shot at ISO 200) will hold up to being pushed (with some luminance noise smoothing).  I was surprised!

Left picture shot at ISO 200, Right picture – same image but pushed 4.55 EV stops!

So far those are my test shots.  I intend to do more pictures this coming weekend and in the next few weekends when we go out-of-town.

Favorite features so far – touch to shoot!  Good to have – live time.  Live time is basically bulb exposure with the OLED display progressively getting brighter.  You press the shutter button once to start exposure and press again to stop once the intended exposure is achieved (based on what you see in the display).  Nice!

Nice camera and I intend to get my money’s worth from this camera.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,013 other followers